Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal – Vegan

Is it weird to say that I love oatmeal?  Yes?  Well, I’m not ashamed to say it, “I love oatmeal!”

Especially now that it’s fall/winter and the mornings are chilly again.  Oatmeal is a breakfast that seems to stick with me and keeps me satisfied.  I eat it about 4-5 times a week once the weather turns cold.

One of my best friends, Meghan, who is vegan, shared this easy, easy breakfast with me and it’s been my favorite for about 2 years now.  It’s definitely not for everyone.  If you only eat Quaker Peaches ‘n’ Cream, you will probably find this recipe a little too . . . hearty.

For me, what’s not to like?  Peanut butter?  Check.  Bananas?  Check.  Super fast and easy?  Double check!

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal

1/3 cup old-fashioned oats

2/3 cup water

2 Tbs peanut butter (this translates to one massive spoonful for me)

1 banana, mashed

-Put the oats, water and peanut butter into a cereal bowl.Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal (3 of 6)

-Microwave for 1 minute 30 seconds

-While that’s going, mash up your banana.

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal (5 of 6)
I love that the banana sweetens everything so I’m not tempted to dump in a couple of spoonfuls of sugar.

-When the oatmeal is done cooking, scoop the banana into the oatmeal and stir everything up well.

Now, this isn’t a pretty and exciting meal.  In fact, everything is kind of beige and blah-looking but it definitely packs a lot of flavor!

Doesn't exactly say "Yum", does it?  But I'm telling you, give it a try.  I think you might like it!
Doesn’t exactly say “Yum”, does it? But I’m telling you, give it a try. I think you might like it!

Leave a Reply